Primer feasibility question - modelling soft tissue behavior using ML

Get interested in Julia since seems crossing many of the themes i’m touching lately: HPC, biophysics, GPGPU, ML, with the goal to create interactive systems.

Not a coder, I’m a solution designer that is deepening on different topics enough to understand what’s possibile and what approach is better to use (or avoid).

Normally modifying other code to test or just doing small programs building line by line to test and learn.

A past long ago as plain C scientific coder, past experience on Matlab for testing on quant finance models, recent experiences in Python using FastAI to learn about the possibilities of ML.

Didn’t like Python (just personal preference), wanted to approach HPC and GPGPU as personal experience, C++ really too steep to unlock GPU potential, Rust not really dedicated, C# not really used in this domain, reading about Julia I like his focus on HPC and elegant approach (even if I’m not sure to like Matlab-like syntax).

Wanted to ask if might be a too steep work starting with Flux/Fastai.jl/SciML to achieve something like this

based on this work (so an U-Net derivative), just to have an interesting goal.

Looks right up our ally.

This has a lot of the FEM meshing tools you need from your paper. I don’t know if GMesh is up to date specifically, but I believe so.

UNets are here:

Connecting it to GitHub - SciML/OperatorLearning.jl: No need to train, he's a smooth operator could be an interesting possibility. I’m quite interested in this field as well so feel free to follow up with an email.

1 Like

I spend some time talking with @davide445 and below I wrote summary of his problem.

Final aim is to develop simulator of surgery navigation for educational purpose, that can be interacted with by using haptics device. It is easier to show it than explaining by words, so check this video.