Possible troubles when mul!(Y, A , transpose(B) )?

Hi, everyone.

I’m new to this language, I’ve been loving it so far, despite having encountered some setbacks. One of them could be a memory leak when multiplying a matrix with its transpose. I use the mul!(Y,A,B) function, and the manual makes it clear that Y should not be related to either A or B:

Blockquote mul!(Y, A, B) → Y. Note that Y must not be aliased with either A or B

However, I have experienced nasty memory leaks (i.e. the program gave correct numerical output, but its CPU usage kept increasing) when A and B are related, as e.g.:

B =transpose(A)
mul!( Y , A , B)

My solution has been to use the transpose! function, as in

transpose(!B , A)
mul!( Y , A , B)

Does this make sense? Unfortunately, I am not able to produce a minimal working code, since the leaks go away when simplifying the full code. The later, I am also unable to provide due to confidentiality reasons! :face_with_diagonal_mouth:

[ BTW, multiplying a matrix by its transpose, thus producing a positive semidefinite symmetric matrix, M =A’ A, which later appears in a linear system M x = y, to be solved as x = M \ y, is an extremely common situation. I appreciate general comments about this, but perhaps it merits a separate topic… ]

Is it both a memory leak and CPU going out of control, or was CPU supposed to say memory? If CPU, does it keep increasing even after the computation, or does it stop then?

Can you verify that the leak happens when you have mul!(Y, A, transpose(A)) but not for mul!(Y, A, copy(transpose(A))) in the original program, without changing other things?

In general, for dense A, mul!(Y, A, transpose(A)) should call BLAS.syrk!, which shouldn’t do anything very surprising.

1 Like

Sorry for the confusion: I meant the RAM kept increasing, as seen e.g. in “free” or “top” in linux.