Pointer being freed was not allocated

Hi,

I am trying to develop LSODA.jl and to overcome some malloc issues. In order to achieve this, I took inspiration from Sundials.jl but I cannot solve the test issue in test1.jl. Basically, calls to lsoda_free give

julia(7820,0x7fffc9d7a3c0) malloc: *** error for object 0x7fec0a0a22d0: pointer being freed was not allocated
*** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug

signal (6): Abort trap: 6
while loading no file, in expression starting on line 0
__pthread_kill at /usr/lib/system/libsystem_kernel.dylib (unknown line)
Allocations: 1935656 (Pool: 1934692; Big: 964); GC: 0

I am a bit new to finalizers mechanisms and I would appreciate some input. Also, it might be useful to know that a Julia structure is passed to a C library which will fill in the internals. When freeing this might cause a problem. In Sundials, everything is done on the C side.

Thank you for your help,

This almost certainly means you are allocating in the library and freeing with Julia (or vice-versa). I didn’t see any obvious problem, but the lsoda_common_t struct looks suspicious (alloc_mem is hard to follow, at least at a quick glance).

Yes you are right. I allocate lsoda_context_t() and lsoda_opt_t() with julia and send it to the C-library which further allocates some subfields. Am I not allowed to do that?

From what I understand, the library expects a pointer to an existing struct. It then allocates memory for the common struct, and fills that in the ->common field. Likewise lsoda_free only touches the common field.

This should be fine, but:

• typically struct (formerly immutable) is recommended for C layout compatibility
  • there’s no need call Ref( ... ) to pass a reference. Just set the argument type as Ref{ ... } and pass the variable by name (referring to the code with Ref(ctx) in the types file).