Please give feedback on my function

I’m very new to Julia, and to get started I’m translating some old MATLAB functions into a package that will be used analyze glacier measurements. Here’s my first attempt at writing a function, and I want to make sure I’m starting out on the right foot.

• Does anything need to be changed to make it more Julia-y?
  • Does anything–even the docstring formatting–jump out at you as bad syntax?

Feel free to be brutal in your feedback, but please let me know which suggestions are essential versus which might be minor personal preferences.

"""
    T = freeboard2thickness(F,kwargs)

Estimate ice thickness from surface height above sea level, assuming hydrostatic equilibrium.

# Input
- `F` (m) freeboard surface height above sea level.
- `rho_ice` (kg/m³) density of ice layer  (default: `917`).
- `rho_seawater` (kg/m³) density of seawater   (default: `1027`).
- `rho_snow` (kg/m³) density of snow layer (default: `350`). Inconsequential unless `T_snow>0`.
- `T_snow` (m) thickness of snow layer   (default: `0`).

# Output
- `T` (m) thickness of ice layer. 

# Examples
### Example 1: Simple case
The surface of an iceberg is 80 cm above the surrounding ocean surface, and the iceberg is 
made of pure ice, without any snow on it. How thick is the iceberg? 
```julia 
julia> freeboard2thickness(0.8)
```
### Example 2: Specifying parameters 
The surface of an iceberg is 80 cm above sea level, and has a 40 cm layer of snow on top, 
whose density is 300 kg/m³. How thick is the ice portion of this iceberg? 
```julia
julia> freeboard2thickness(0.8; T_snow=0.4, rho_snow=300)
```
# Author Info 
Chad A. Greene, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory 
April, 2022
"""
```julia
function freeboard2thickness(
    F; 
    rho_ice=917, 
    rho_seawater=1027, 
    rho_snow=350,
    T_snow=0
    )
    T = F*rho_seawater/(rho_seawater-rho_ice) - T_snow*(rho_seawater-rho_snow)/(rho_seawater-rho_ice); 
    return T
end
```
1 Like

Covered by this PSA.