PIC (particle-in-cell), space charge tracking simulation?

There’s a lot of demand in plasma/accelerator science to simulate space charge through so-called particle-in-cell model (which is somewhat like finite element analysis in structural dynamics etc)

Many of them, for example fbpic uses Python for the apparent advantage for scientists users and for performance reason has to use Numba. Also, there are more legacy code written in Fortan (e.g Using ASTRA at DESY-Hamburg)

Is there any related project going on in Julia community? If people were to write something in Julia, would there be a real advantage over Numpy?

I am not an expert of Python/Numpy/numba… (I have developed // and HPC physics solvers in C++ for many years) so my answer is only a strong opinion.

1. Pros of Julia for HPC simulations
  • Solve the problem of two languages (productivity of a dynamic language and performances of C++ or Fortran codes)).
  • Very expressive, complete and rich (too rich ?) language that allows you to express accurately and efficiently an amazing variety of algorithms.
  1. Cons.
  • People form classical HPC (e.g. CFD) have not yet massively made the switch to Julia and so they are (IMHO) a bit late to react compared to other scientific domains (e.g. mathematical optimization, data science,…). As a consequence, the ecosystem may appear a bit sparse and you may have to develop more stuff by yourself. For example, I am presently coding parallel geometric multigrid solvers (and it is a real pleasure to do it in Julia).
  • The multi-threading API is not yet totally completed.

With this in mind, I estimate that the benefits (generic, modular, composable algorithms, functional programming, meta-programming, performance tools…) to start new development in Julia largely exceed the drawbacks of the relative youth of the ecosystem: the productivity in Julia allows you to focus on algorithms and deliver more performant and maintainable simulation tools.