Performance regression

Hi,
I’m new to this so please forgive me if I am violating protocols. I would also like to report a performance regression from 0.4.5 to 0.5.0. I have looked from the discussion forums and I think my problem is related to what others have reported about indexing to arrays but I am not sure. The program is pretty naive in its uses of features. What I liked about Julia is that I didn’t need to work hard to get fast code.

Below are the outputs from @benchmark. The code is on my GitHub repository https://github.com/ccc1685/transcription-model. In using @profile, it seems as if Julia spends a lot of time using map(). My code uses a lot of arrays of arrays. Here is an example for line 222 in my code from 0.50 using @profile.

653 ...master/speedtest.jl:222; speedtest()
        602 ./array.jl:392; getindex
         602 ./abstractarray.jl:284; checkbounds
          1   ...lib/julia/sys.dylib:?; checkbounds_indices(::Type{Bo...
          1   ...lib/julia/sys.dylib:?; checkbounds_indices(::Type{Bo...
          542 ...lib/julia/sys.dylib:?; map(::Type{T}, ::Tuple{Int64})
           542 ./tuple.jl:92; map(::Type{T}, ::Tuple{Int64})
            3 ...lib/julia/sys.dylib:?; Base.OneTo{T<:Integer}(::Int64)

This is what I get for 0.4.5

26  ...n/master/speedtest.jl; speedtest; line: 222
    11 array.jl; getindex; line: 288
     10 array.jl; unsafe_getindex; line: 291
    9  arraymath.jl; cumsum; line: 450

@benchmark outputs

Julia Version 0.4.5
Commit 2ac304d (2016-03-18 00:58 UTC)
Platform Info:
  System: Darwin (x86_64-apple-darwin13.4.0)
  CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4558U CPU @ 2.80GHz
  WORD_SIZE: 64
  BLAS: libopenblas (USE64BITINT DYNAMIC_ARCH NO_AFFINITY Haswell)
  LAPACK: libopenblas64_
  LIBM: libopenlibm
  LLVM: libLLVM-3.3
@benchmark speedtest()
BenchmarkTools.Trial: 
  memory estimate:  477.61 mb
  allocs estimate:  11397433
  --------------
  minimum time:     531.212 ms (11.01% GC)
  median time:      543.016 ms (10.63% GC)