Performance & Profiling Tips for Beginner Code

Dear all, I have been using Julia for a few months now, writing code mostly without worrying too much about performance (profiling very briefly with @time/@btime to make sure nothing too horribly is happening though).

Intro:
But now, I feel the time has come to improve my knowledge on performance, so that I can write faster and more efficient code in the future directly from the get-go, without profiling a lot afterwards. As I believe that learning is best by doing an example, I humbly ask for your help in improving my code. For that I present below a typical code of mine which builds matrices and subsequently calculates the eigenvalues and -functions. Here the matrix elements basically stem from some complex Gaussian integrals. My aim is not to over-optimizie this very code, but it is an excerpt of one of my actual codes (I have changed all variable names) and it representy my usual way of coding. In this sense it is not an urgent request for help, but rather to learn some new techniques.

If you feel that this question should be moved to the “New to Julia” subforum, please feel free to do so.

Code:
(the file is called PerformanceTest.jl)

using LinearAlgebra

# Script is below

## Functions:
function mat_xyz(var_params, d_arr, abcvals; mu_g=1.0, prefac=-10.0, theta = 0.0)

(;s1,snmax,nmax,S1,SNmax,Nmax) = var_params;
    (;avals,bvals,cvals) = abcvals;

# Initialization:
    dims = nmax*Nmax;
    X  = zeros(ComplexF64,dims,dims) # create only marix W=X+Y and add both X and Y directly?
    Y  = zeros(ComplexF64,dims,dims)
    Z  = zeros(ComplexF64,dims,dims)

# Gaussian widths nu:
    nu_arr=zeros(nmax);nu_arr[1] = 1/s1^2;
    if nmax > 1; nu_arr[2:nmax] = @. 1/s1^2 * (s1/snmax)^(2*((2:nmax)-1)/(nmax-1)); end
    NU_arr=zeros(Nmax);NU_arr[1] = 1/S1^2;
    if Nmax > 1; NU_arr[2:Nmax] = @. 1/S1^2 * (S1/SNmax)^(2*((2:Nmax)-1)/(Nmax-1)); end

# Norm:
    norm(nu) = 2*(2*nu)^(3/4)/pi^(1/4);

# Complex factor: