PDE heat equation

i want to solve the matrix ,but i can’t do it. i am new to Julia. please help me in finding error .i have to plot the last equation given in picture below. what is MethodError i am making?

I think the error is reasonably clear:

julia> n = 1:10
1:10

julia> n + 1
ERROR: MethodError: no method matching +(::UnitRange{Int64}, ::Int64)

You can’t add an integer to a range. The way to do this is by broadcasting the addition:

julia> n .+ 1
2:11

But I don’t think this is what you actually want to do here.

(As an aside, I notice you have adapted my unicode notation from the other thread, just FYI the lowerscript letters can be written with \_x<TAB>)

2 Likes

i want to get the value of theta at many different indices. so that i can plot it at different time and position.
should i change range to array ,by putting in [ 1:10] ?

I maintain my advice from the other thread - you should really spend some time reading the Julia manual and/or do some basic Julia tutorials, a lot of the things you are trying here indicate that you’re not sufficiently familiar with the basic workings of the language to really use it productively.

I take it that you essentially have a 2-dimensional array θ which you are trying to fill, where the values at each index depends on values in adjacent cells. To do this, you want to iterate over the indices like

for n in 1:size(θ, 1), j in 1:size(θ, 2)
     θ[n, j] = ...
end

although you need to think about what you do with boundaries (as your n+1, j+1, j-1 indices will go out of bounds in the first or last iteration).

5 Likes

I would encourage you to read my last post again, especially the part following the code block!

5 Likes

i am not able to move forward. please help me. i changed range of n and j, but it is still showing BoundError

I’m afraid I can’t help you with this, as this is not a Julia/coding problem but a conceptual problem.

The Julia bit is easy, you have a matrix that is 10 by 10 in size, and then do