PDAL Plugin

Hi everyone. I’ve been working on an experimental plugin for using Julia as an embedded stage in PDAL. There is a similar feature for using Python already.

I’d like to get a feel for how much people are using Julia for Point Cloud tasks currently and how interested they would be in using it if it were easily accessible in PDAL?

I am no expert on Julia (this project is motivated by our data-science team favouring it for other tasks), so from the guidance of my team members, the most useful packages to base the interface around would be

• LasIO.jl
  • RoamesGeometry.jl
  • TypedTables.jl

Any thoughts on how to structure this interface would be appreciated. The Python version expects a function with a dictionary of Numpy arrays (one per dimension in the PC) as its only argument and returns the same thing. The metadata/header is also exposed as a global.

The code is here, contributions very welcome! It’s still in a very rough state and is unlikely to work outside of Debian

3 Likes

Hi and welcome! Being able to use Julia in PDAL pipelines would be great. I thought about doing that as well a while ago, but never got around to it.

My understanding is that this is most useful for doing custom steps that are not already available in PDAL. So input and output are probably already covered, and LasIO may not be very helpful, since PDAL’s internal data model is not equal to LAS I believe.

While Python uses a dictionary of Numpy arrays, using a Dict of Arrays in Julia is probably not optimal. I have not looked into PDAL’s data model, but perhaps you can use something similar in Julia? It would be great for performance if PDAL does not have to make any copies.

It is probably also a good idea to ask about the design to the PDAL mailing list, and let them know that you are working on this.

cc @evetion @c42f