Pass functions to objects

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Julia and writing a particle simulation. Each System of Particles should have a set of functions that update the forces acting on the system/particles. These functions should be user definable. I don’t know how to solve this problem properly. Currently I’m using a tuple that contains the functions that should be called:

mutable struct System
    ps::Vector{Particle}
    forces::Tuple
end

and then calling them like:

function updateForces!(s::System)
    for force in s.forces
        force(s)
    end
end

This however is slow compared to calling the functions directly. @benchmark reports 350ns with 0 allocations vs 430ns with 0 allocations when using 2 custom functions for s.forces.

Is there a better way to do this?

Thank you,
Nico

1 Like

Tuple is an abstract type. Make all fields in System concrete. For instance

mutable struct System{P, F}
    ps::Vector{P}
    forces::Tuple{F, F}
end
1 Like

Looping over functulns tend to be slow because the compiler often cannot devirtualize the call. People usually use GitHub - yuyichao/FunctionWrappers.jl to work around that (although I have heard it is slower than needed due to some julia issue).

1 Like

Probably

?

1 Like

Note that this overhead you are observing will be probably irrelevant relative to the cost of computing the functions themselves (it is probably a case of premature optimization).

Take a look at the packages of JuliaMolSim and at CellListMap.jl, probably there is useful stuff there to you.

@ncxst some ideas about that are available here: https://github.com/m3g/2021_FortranCon

1 Like

I don’t fully understand the {} syntax jet, but as far as I understand it specifies types. Does forces::Tuple{F, F} mean that the tuple forces contains 2 objects of type F?
When I try to implement this, I get errors as forces contains different functions, e.g. harmonic! and f_d!:

julia> System([Particle([0.,0.]) for i in 1:3], (harmonic!, f_d!))