Julia types

Hi I am studying Julia’s type system and was confused about parametric types. In the juliadocs there is the following example

struct Point{T} 
x::T
y::T
end

and if I would like to restrict T to <:Real I do the following

struct Point{T<:Real} 
end

but I cannot do this

struct Point{T where T<:Real} 
end

or

struct Point{T} where T<:Real
end

what is wrong with it? Moreover, if for whatever reason, this is what I intend to do

struct Point{T,S} where S<:Real, T<:S
y::S
end

how should I do it?

A few other related questions (suppose T, S, etc. are declared types):

1. Union{T,S} isa Union, but not a DataType, why?
  2. Union isa Type and Union<:Type are both true, So is Union an object of Type, or a subtype of Type? Similiarly Union isa DataType is true, but Union<:DataType is false, what is the rationale?
  3. Type isa Type is true, but T isa T is false. what’s the rationale?
  4. What is the general framework of all these rules? Is it consistent?
2 Likes

You can write

struct Point{S<:Real, T<:S}
end

Maybe weird, but c’est la vie. Alternatively, you can enforce field type relationships in an inner constructor:

struct Point{T,S<:Real}
    function Point{T,S}(x, y) where {S<:Real, T<:S}
        return new{T,S}(x, y)
    end
end

Furthers answers, as per my understanding:

1. There are 3 “kinds” of types (subtypes(Type), excluding Core.TypeofBottom): DataType, Union and UnionAll. The first includes all normal concrete and abstract types. The second includes all unions of a finite number of types. The third includes constructs like Vector{T} where {T<:Any}.
  2. Type is a supertype of all type objects. Union is a supertype for all union type objects, but it is also an object of DataType. Thus, Union is a subtype of Type, and its type is also a subtype of Type.