Parametric type: type stable getfield

Hi everyone,
I have a bit of trouble understanding what is going on and why I’m getting type instability (julia 0.7).

I create a parametric type of the form

mutable struct Point{T1<:Real}
    x::T1
    y::Int64
end

Now this is type stable:

p = Point(1,1)
@code_warntype p.x

while this isn’t:

p = Point(1.5,1)
@code_warntype p.x

In particular, why do I get that Union? I’m just getting started on 0.7 and, if I understood correctly I don’t have to worry too much about this union. Still, i’d like to understand what exactly is going on.

Thanks a lot :slight_smile:

Put things in functions for optimizations to properly kick in.

julia> f(p) = p.x
f (generic function with 1 method)

julia> @code_warntype f(p)
Body::Float64
1 1 ─ %1 = (Base.getfield)(p, :x)::Float64                                                                                   │╻ getproperty
  └──      return %1     

The reason it infers when all fields are the same type is, well, all fields are the same type.

2 Likes

Cool, but why does that not work if not in a function? Should’t the compiler know the type of p.x anyway?

p.x is the same as getproperty(p, :x) so what happens in your case is similar to:

julia> f(p, s) = getproperty(p, s)
f (generic function with 2 methods)

julia> @code_warntype f(p, :x)
Body::Union{Float64, Int64}
1 1 ─ %1 = (Base.getfield)(p, s)::Union{Float64, Int64}                                                                      │╻ getproperty
  └──      return %1                                                                                                         │

In other words, the .x is not considered a constant from the way you use the macro.

In fact, we can see what the macro expands to:

julia> @macroexpand @code_warntype p.x
:((InteractiveUtils.code_warntype)(getproperty, (Base.typesof)(p, :x)))

and

julia> (Base.typesof)(p, :x)
Tuple{Point{Float64},Symbol}

so we end up calling