I am trying to parallelize a simple histogram:

n_bins =  20000000
n_elem = 100000000
hist = zeros(Int64, n_bins)

for i = 1:n_elem
   bin = rand(UInt64)%n_bins + 1
   hist[bin] += 1
end

In Fortran&OpenMP I would just use a reduction on hist or I could locks, but I am new to julia and I don’t quite understand how todo parallelism in julia and the documentation doesn’t have may examples.

In addition to this comes that the calculation time of the bins can strongly vary. It there an equivalent of OpenMPs schedule dynamic or schedule guided?

How would you best parallelize this code?

Your MWE is a bit tricky since rand is not thread safe. One approach, suggested in https://docs.julialang.org/en/v1/manual/parallel-computing/, is to use Future.randjump to produce non-overlapping random number sequences for different threads. There are a couple of ways you can parallelize this loop. First, use locks or atomics, another is to have each thread separately store their histogram, and then add them all together. Here’s the first, with atomics, which should be faster than with locks:

using Random, Base.Threads, Future
function parHistogram()
n_bins =  20000000
n_elem = 100000000
hist = [Atomic{Int64}(0) for k = 1:n_bins]
r = let m = MersenneTwister(1)
                [m; accumulate(Future.randjump, fill(big(10)^20, nthreads()-1), init=m)]
            end;
@threads for i = 1:n_elem
   bin = rand(r[threadid()],UInt64)%n_bins + 1
   atomic_add!(hist[bin],1)
end
hist
end

The trouble is, this is much slower than the sequential version, because there’s lots of contention for the updates and not very much work on each iteration. Here’s the second version:

using Random, Base.Threads
function parHistogram2()
n_bins =  20000000
n_elem = 100000000
hist_t = [zeros(Int64, n_bins) for k = 1:nthreads()]
r = let m = MersenneTwister(1)
                [m; accumulate(Future.randjump, fill(big(10)^20, nthreads()-1), init=m)]
   end;
@threads for i = 1:n_elem