Parallel/multithreading version of linear regression

Hi there,
I’m new to Julia.
I implemented regression model with interactions using Julia GLM package:
Reg = lm(@formula(dep_var ~ var1&var2&var3), data, true).
But fitting this formula requires a lot of RAM (> 80 GB). I noticed that the calculations are performed on one core, although my OS (x86_64-pc-linux-gnu) has 8 cpu cores.
Is it possible to implement linear regression using multiprocessing/parallelism approaches?
I suppose, it could also improve the model runtime.
Thanks a lot for any recommendation.

Welcome!

In most optimization problems the cost is associated with the calculation of the objective function and its gradient. Thus, you could implement parallel versions of the function and gradient, and use any solver. To get some help on that you would need to be more explicit in the structure of the function that you want to fit.

Edit: of course in this case it will be a sum of squares of some difference between the data and the model. That can be parallelized, and quite easily.

Edit 2: Likely Flux does that (as suggested by ckneale), and parallelizes the sum of squares to the GPU.

Just a comment: the function that evaluates the sum of squares of a model relative to the
data should not in principle allocate anything. It might be that the definition of the model is suboptimal, nor preallocating auxiliary arrays, using global variables, or has type-instabilities, etc, that are leading to these allocations and, perhaps, to the lack of performance.

I’d start by creating the design matrix manually and then use the linearalgebra library. E.g.

X\depvar

Also take a look at the low level api functions in LinearAlgebra.