Pairwise computation slower than Python (Cython) code (BallTree very slow!)

Hi everyone ! I’m new to Julia, and so far have found it very nice and neat. However, my Julia implementation is still slower than the python one I was trying to beat. The goal is to compute the mean radial pairwise velocity of objects as a function of their separation, given their 3D velocities and positions. Note that these objects are inside a periodic box, so all distances need to account for periodic boundary conditions. To avoid computing more pairwise distances than necessary, I use BallTree to filter the objects inside the maximum distance allowed.

Here are the functions I defined,

using Distances
using LinearAlgebra
using NearestNeighbors

export get_pairwise_velocity_distribution

function get_periodic_difference( x, y, period)
    delta = abs(x - y)
    return ifelse(delta > 0.5 * period, delta - period, delta )* sign(x-y)
end

function get_pairwise_velocities!(
                    ret, 
                    dv, 
                    pos_pair_left,
                    pos_pair_right,
                    vel_pair_left,
                    vel_pair_right,
                    boxsize
    )
    for i in 1:length(ret)
        dv[i] = vel_pair_left[i] - vel_pair_right[i]
        ret[i] = get_periodic_difference(pos_pair_left[i], pos_pair_right[i], boxsize[i])
    end
    r = LinearAlgebra.norm(ret)
    v_r = LinearAlgebra.dot(dv,ret)/r
    #v_t = sqrt(LinearAlgebra.dot(dv, dv) - v_r*v_r)/sqrt(2.)
    return r, v_r
end

function get_pairwise_velocity_distribution(
        positions, velocities,
        rbins,
        boxsize
        )
    r_max = maximum(rbins)
    metric = PeriodicEuclidean(boxsize)
    tranposed_positions = permutedims(positions)
    balltree = BallTree(tranposed_positions, metric)
    mean_v_r = zeros(Float64, (length(rbins)-1))
    n_pairs = zeros(Int32, (length(rbins)-1))
    idxs = inrange(balltree, tranposed_positions, r_max, false)