Package negligence

Hello.

I’m a 25-year veteran of Microsoft’s C#, and I’ve become very discouraged by the status of the Machine Learning (ML.NET) project at Microsoft. It seems to be dying, and developers are left holding an empty bag.

So, I’ve come over to Julia to see if life is better. My early experience was both good and bad.

Let me talk about the bad side of Julia. Like Python, Package neglect is a problem. For example, being interested in Smoothing Splines, I naturally looked at “SmoothingSplines.jl”. The GitHub REPO shows that this package has not been maintained in two years, and it can no longer be compiled by Julia 1.8.5.

My question to the Julia community is: “What is your policy on Package neglect”?

Charles

5 Likes

I installed SmoothingSplines on Julia 1.8.5 without any problem. Also the tests passed.

So in this case I do not see any problem. I am using Linux, though. What are you using?

Make sure you install it in a clean project, e.g.

mkdir Splines
cd Splines
julia --project="."

and then in Julia:

using Pkg
Pkg.add("SmoothingSplines")
Pkg.test("SmoothingSplines")
using SmoothingSplines

Does this work for you, or which step fails?

8 Likes

EDIT: TL;DR, there was a practical problem, but no more.

I’m surprised, since that’s claimed to be not true. Since you’re new, if the package has a Project.toml file it should work (I’m not aware of any packages for pre-1.0 Julia only, that are registered are registered). You can see in that file [compat] and there under julia = “1.0”. That doesn’t mean only 1.0 works, it refers to oldest version that that should work. And I’m not sure it’s even needed in that case (is 1.0 automatically implied?).

There are very rare examples where code doesn’t work in a later Julia (if relying on undocumented API), so except for that, it doesn’t matter if packages are no longer updated. They should work, but of course might have bugs that do not get fixed, then you could fork them.