Optimize performance comparison - Optim.jl vs Scipy

I am just starting to learn about optimization. I picked up Optim.jl (great documentation, btw) and tried to do the same thing in Python.

It seems that Rosenbrock function is what everyone uses as an example. Perhaps not too surprisingly, Julia is a lot faster than Python (appox. 60x) but then I am curious where the performance difference come from. Has anyone done similar exercise before? What do you think?

I’ve uploaded my notebooks for reference.

1. Julia (63 μs) Jupyter Notebook Viewer

2. Python (3.85 ms, with numba jit 3.55 ms) Jupyter Notebook Viewer

2 Likes

The runtime of rosenbrock is totally negligble in Julia:

julia> @btime rosenbrock($x2) # result of running optimization
  1.354 ns (0 allocations: 0 bytes)
7.645688055381766e-21

but it may take close to a microseond or per call in Python?

Also, FWIW, I once tried to lean up Optim for use on cheap functions in simulations. Things aren’t in a pretty state at the moment, but, setup (note this “once differentiable” object uses ForwardDiff):

using BenchmarkTools, DifferentiableObjects # https://github.com/chriselrod/DifferentiableObjects.jl
using TriangularMatrices 
# This should really be StaticArrays, but in a rush job I didn't make things as generic as I should have.
# I'll get around to making it appropriately generic within a couple months
# https://github.com/chriselrod/TriangularMatrices.jl
rosenbrock(x) =  (1.0 - x[1])^2 + 100.0 * (x[2] - x[1]^2)^2
x = RecursiveVector{Float64,2}() .= 0; # basically, an MVector
od = OnceDifferentiable(rosenbrock, deepcopy(x));

Results:

julia> optimize_light(od, x, BFGS())
([1.0, 1.0], 7.645688055381766e-21)

julia> x
2-element RecursiveVector{Float64,2}:

julia> @benchmark optimize_light($od, $x, BFGS())
BenchmarkTools.Trial: 
  memory estimate:  14.08 KiB
  allocs estimate:  313
  --------------
  minimum time:     10.747 μs (0.00% GC)
  median time:      11.165 μs (0.00% GC)