Operations with time duration

I am relatively new to Julia. I don’t see a way to do the following in Julia in an easy way, like en excel…
t = 1h5m2s
average per Km = t/5 = 13m0s400ms

Any help?

julia> using Dates

julia> t=Time(1,5,2)
01:05:02

julia> Time(t.instant/5)
00:13:00.4
1 Like

Thanks… Very simple. But it works only if it less than 24 hours… For example, it does not work in the following example.
t = 26h3m5s
t/5 = 5h12m37s

Based on this old thread:

julia> canonicalize(Dates.CompoundPeriod((Second(Hour(26)) + Second(Minute(3)) + Second(5))/5))
5 hours, 12 minutes, 37 seconds

That’s super verbose. Can’t you just do

(Hour(26) + Minute(3) + Second(5)) / 5

or something like that?

There’s no / for CompoundPeriod, which I guess is why the above goes via Second. I wouldn’t be surprised if there was a more ergonomic formulation, but equally if there isn’t I’d probably just define a one line in my code.

Seems like a typical job for type promotion? Everything should promote to seconds. Oh well.

These types intentionally don’t promote to a common type because they represent the difference between two points in time in a calendar, which is not always a fixed length of time. e.g. because of leap seconds, some minutes are 61 seconds long.

For the OP’s problem, I’d suggest using Unitful.jl instead which specifically deals with measurements not calendar periods.

6 Likes

I think that in the same way you can add or subtract duration, you should be able to divide or multiply by a number. I am surprised, that something that it is easily done in excel, it can not be easily replicated in Julia, a language that is known to be concise. I found also a similar issue from someone in 2018… I am not the only one having this issue.