ODE Parameter Estimation Using NLopt.jl

Good day.

I’m new to Julia and using different sources implemented optimization procedure of Predator-Prey ODE system (2 possible models):

using ProgressBars, Distributions, DelimitedFiles, DifferentialEquations, DiffEqParamEstim, Optimization, NLopt

data = transpose(readdlm(“LV2_30_Julia.csv”, ‘,’))

function myoptimization(p, opt)
g_minf = Inf
g_minx = Array{Float64}(undef, 0)
loops = 10

for j in 1:loops
    (minf,minx,ret) = NLopt.optimize(opt,rand(Uniform(0, 1), length(p)))
    if minf < g_minf
        g_minf = minf
        g_minx = minx
    end
end

next_opt = false
add_loops = 0
while next_opt && add_loops < 50
init_p = Array([rand(Normal(g_minx[i], sqrt(g_minx[i])/3)) for i in 1:length(g_minx)])
init_p[init_p.<= 0] .= 0.000001

(minf,minx,ret) = NLopt.optimize(opt, init_p)
    if minf < g_minf
        if g_minf - minf < 1e-10
            next_opt = false
            println("Exit on tolerance")
        end
        g_minf = minf
        g_minx = minx
    end
    add_loops += 1
end
return g_minf, g_minx

end

u0 = [1.0;2.0]
tspan = (0.0,30.0)
t = collect(range(0,stop=30,length=31))

function f1(du,u,p,t)
du[1] = p[1] * u[1] - p[2] * u[1] * u[2]
du[2] = -p[3] * u[2] + p[4] * u[1] * u[2]
end

p1 = [0.5,0.5,0.5,0.5]
lb1 = [0,0,0,0]
ub1 = [1000,1000,1000,1000]
prob1 = ODEProblem(f1,u0,tspan,p1)
obj1 = build_loss_objective(prob1, AutoVern9(Rodas5()),L2Loss(t,data),Optimization.AutoFiniteDiff())
opt1 = Opt(:LN_BOBYQA, 4)
min_objective!(opt1, obj1)
maxeval!(opt1, 100000)
lower_bounds!(opt1,lb1)
upper_bounds!(opt1,ub1)

function f2(du,u,p,t)
du[1] = p[1] * u[1] *(1 - u[1]/p[5]) - p[2] * u[2] * u[1]
du[2] = -p[3] * u[2] + p[4] * u[1] * u[2]
end

p2 = [0.5,0.5,0.5,0.5,0.5]
lb2 = [0,0,0,0,0]
ub2 = [1000,1000,1000,1000,1000]
prob2 = ODEProblem(f2,u0,tspan,p2)
obj2 = build_loss_objective(prob2, AutoVern9(Rodas5()),L2Loss(t,data),Optimization.AutoFiniteDiff())
opt2 = Opt(:LN_BOBYQA, 5)
min_objective!(opt2, obj2)