Nteract not opening Julia Academy notebooks?

I’m just getting started with Julia and am trying to go through some of the notebooks associated with the Julia Academy courses. I have nteract installed and working, and I’ve downloaded a few of the starter notebooks from Github. However, every time I try to open one of the Julia Academy notebooks, I get this error message:

“Fetch content failed
SyntaxError: Unexpected token < in JSON at position 6”

This doesn’t happen with the example notebooks that nteract provides.

This is on a laptop running a current version of Kubuntu Linux.

Any helpful ideas out there?

You’re going to need to give more information. I’m on MacOS BigSur 11.2.3. I have nteract 0.28.0 and I downloaded and viewed without any problem the following notebook from Julia Academy:

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/JuliaAcademy/JuliaTutorials/main/introductory-tutorials/intro-to-julia/Working%20with%20matrices.ipynb

However, to run the notebooks you need Julia 1.0. Or perhaps you can compile the notebooks yourself and thus be able to run them on a more recent version.

Edit: So here’s what I did. Open the file above (extension ipynb) into any editor and change the fields to your version of Julia. In my case, 1.6.1. These are near the top of the file:

"metadata": {
  "anaconda-cloud": {},
  "kernelspec": {
   "display_name": "Julia 1.6.1",
   "language": "julia",
   "name": "julia-1.6"
  },
  "language_info": {
   "file_extension": ".jl",
   "mimetype": "application/julia",
   "name": "julia",
   "version": "1.6.1"
  },

After that I was able to run the notebooks (I could view them even without doing that).

Thank you ptoche. I tried using the pattern you provided, but with my version of Julia, 1.4.1. Now I just get a different error message:

“Launch kernel failed
A kernel named julia-1.4 does not appear to be available. Try installing the julia-1.4 kernelspec or selecting a different kernel.”