Newcomers, Julia, Go and web-development

One of most frequent questions that I get from people interested in Julia, for example on the chat of “Julia Beginners AMA”, is “Is Julia good for web-development?”. I’m not into web-development, so I don’t have knowledge to give well thought answer. I know that part Julia community is active that field, but at this my knowledge pretty much ends.

I think that I encounter this question so often, that is worth considering how non-web-developer Julia user should respond to it. My personal, non-expert opinion is that, if what you need is language for web-development you should learn Go, which is great, minimalist, elegant, stable language tailored for writing web servers at Google. But, this is only my opinion, I can be wrong.

1 Like

I am also not a web developer, but I know there are some pretty cool things being done in Julia in that area. I will let those who are more active in the area provide their comments, but I will just link you to some of the cool projects.

For building static webpages:

For building reactive dashboards:

For general web development:

There are many others! I would put Pluto.jl in the mix here too.

You are probably right that for many web development things, Julia might still lag behind the existing frameworks in other languages, but it is moving forward very quickly.

9 Likes

Thank you for this. I will probably ask developers of this packages how this works/feels in practice.

It is easy to notice that Julia and Go feels very different. And should feel these way, they are designed in very different ways and newcomers should know if these differences matters for them. Putting some syntax aside I will stated my viewpoint on some of them.