Need someone to explain to me this

I am very new to Julia and will learn, but I would ask you if you can help an explain this line by line to me:

@constraints(model, begin
        # Constraint 1 - Only one value appears in each cell
        cell[i in 1:9, j in 1:9], sum(x[i, j, :]) == 1
        # Constraint 2 - Each value appears in each row once only
        row[i in 1:9, k in 1:9], sum(x[i, :, k]) == 1
        # Constraint 3 - Each value appears in each column once only
        col[j in 1:9, k in 1:9], sum(x[:, j, k]) == 1
        # Constraint 4 - Each value appears in each 3x3 subgrid once only
        subgrid[i=1:3:7, j=1:3:7, val=1:9], sum(x[i:i + 2, j:j + 2, val]) == 1
    end)

Thanks

This seem to be some code using JuMP.jl, so I will re-file your post to the Optimization (Mathematics) category.

About the code itself, I suggest you read the documentation I linked. In special the part about constraints. I use JuMP but this code seems a little strange. The lines a[...], sum(...) == 1 are not a common pattern. I can be wrong, but it seems to (I will explain using the names in the fist line inside the begin, the rest is analogue): create a set of constraints called cell, these are 81 constraints (each combination of i in 1:9 and j in 1:9), each of these 81 constraints define that the sum of the all elements with the first and second dimensions fixed to a specific value of i and j should be equal to one. In other words, sum(x[1, 1, all possible indexes]) must be 1, sum(x[1, 2, all possible indexes]) must be 1, and so on.

2 Likes

Also, before I forget. Welcome to our community.

3 Likes

Thank you so much, for your fast and detailed answer. That piece of code I’ve submitted here was taken for JUMP examples folder (solving sudoku with MIP solver).

So if i moves through rows, j moves through columns, k should move through actual values of sudoku cell.

For me sum(x[i, j, :]) can only mean that in MIP (0 or 1) sums of all x[i,j,1…9] = 1.