Need help speeding up ode ensemble problem; preallocation and type instability?

Hi! I’m writing some particle tracing code with large ensemble sizes and it’s super slow. Because for my simulations I need really small timesteps, the solution is huge, and this takes a very very long time (like couple hundred hours :sweat_smile:) to get what I want (I’ve been mostly testing on small sample sizes to optimize performance). However, I have gc time at ~70% with massive amount of allocations and I’m just stuck. I did some investigative profiling to figure out what was going on, and this is what I see:

My equations of motion function (eom!) is what I’m trying to optimize, and there’s 4 “pillars” of gc fun it seems (pillars 1, 2, 4, and 5). I am a novice at Julia, and don’t really know how the DifferentialEquations.jl stuff works (I did try to look up cmd_gen and arg_gen in the source code, but it was beyond me), so please bear with me as I try my best to explain what’s going on. My takeaways from looking at this is that

1. Is the append! and getindex function calls in pillars 1, 4, and 5 for appending to the solution array or something? Would that be necessary if we preallocated the solution vector somehow? I couldn’t figure out how to do that. I do use the save_at parameter and I know how long I’m running the integration for, so I should know exactly what size solution array to preallocate, right?

2. Pillar 2 is intriguing to me. It seems there is some string that is generated, but I’m guessing it’s type instable due to the unsafe_string call? I have no idea where it’s coming from, and how it would be called. Perhaps it’s something within the DifferentialEquations.jl solver?