Need help getting started with FluxML

Hi all,

I am just getting started with Flux.
While the documentation is present, I have a hard time finding some information.
In particular, these are some questions that came up:

• am I to use Zygote or the Tracker module? Which one is used for the latest Flux, has Flux already transitioned to Zygote?
  • are there examples for writing my own “layer”? More precisely, I would like to use a SVD and a derivative that I found in some paper.
  • Somewhat more detailed question: I have an operation Diagonal(w)) * A, where w is an Array and A is an Array (a matrix). This works fine without Flux, but if w is containing tracked values, Julia complains that it does not have an implementation for the multiplication operator (*).
    I’m sure I’m doing something wrong that is obvious for the Flux expert.

… I know how to get this done in PyTorch, but I would love to try out Flux.

The current stable release of Flux uses Tracker.
The master branch of Flux in development uses Zygote.
I would not recommend trying to use that right now, for someone just starting out.
(Its just kinda fiddly to setup)

Docs on that are here:
https://fluxml.ai/Flux.jl/stable/models/basics/#Building-Layers-1

Can you write up a minimum verifiable example,
and include that and the full error message in your post.

1 Like

Thanks for answering!
I saw the basics/building layers documentation; what is unclear to me is how I can supply my own implementation of a derivative. Is that somehow linked to the forward() function? Sorry if this is obvious to some :slight_smile: I’m really new to Flux and Julia.

As for a an example, I’ll try to de-solder the necessary code from my (messy) experiments.

Ok looks like I figured out the part with the Diagonal.