Do you actually use FluxML to get work done?

Hello. I am a student and I am studying tensor methods for deep learning. I decided to try Julia with FluxML yesterday, and so far I met 2 problems of type “FluxML tracked array doesn’t compile when used with this standard library function” and also a more sneaky and evil problem of type “it compiles and runs, but the computed gradients are incorrect”.

This experience suggests, that FluxML is very raw and not ready for people to work using it. But that’s not the impression I got from reading this forums. So… if you actually do stuff using FluxML, not for the purpose of tinkering with FluxML, raise you hand and tell us what do you use it for?

2 Likes

These are pretty vague error reports, so there’s very little we can do to help you. If you’re interested in solving whatever problem you’ve run into, you’ll be much more likely to get useful help if you can describe your problem in a scientific, reproducible way.

But, to your question, yes, I did all of the machine learning work for the final year of my PhD thesis in Flux.jl, so it can certainly be used for real work.

12 Likes

I’ve been using it for designing a CNN that is constrained to anatomy in medical imaging. It’s fairly basic because most of my ML experience is in traditional stats methods until now. However, it’s actually neuron to neuron connections are pretty unique so it would have required a lot more work to create the custom layers in Tensorflow.

2 Likes

Which library function?

Did you Flux.data everything to make it run instead of actually fixing your types? That would obviously break the gradients and it sounds like that’s what happened. Of course, this will happen in any machine learning framework where one bypasses the backpass to fix an error.

3 Likes