Multi-GPU single host training example

Hello - I am completely new to Julia and just started playing around with it in the last couple of days over my winter break. Its a great language :slight_smile: Thank you for building/maintaining it!

Can somebody point me to an end-to-end example of training a deep learning model using multiple GPUs? Specifically I am looking for an example where the training happens on a single host leveraging GPU-to-GPU comms (e.g., with NCCL) instead of going via the CPU. Essentially I am looking for an equivalent of PyTorch’s DDP.

Here is what I have found so far on this topic:

• Flux tutorial with GPU - this is for a single GPU use case.
  • CUDA.jl multiple GPU support - this explicitly mentions that the comms is via the CPU.
  • MPI + CUDA - there is not a lot of information here except that I have to recompile MPI with CUDA flags.
  • Dagger.jl - this seems to be a Ray like DAG execution engine.
  • DaggerGPU - again not a lot of info, except perhaps if I do a deep dive into Dagger this might start to make sense.
  • DaggerFlux - this seems most promising but the example is again for a single GPU.
  • Julia computing webinar - signup sheet to a webinar with a promising title that happened earlier in the year but could not find a recording of this.

Any pointers are much appreciated!

Regards,

2 Likes

Maybe you find the information included in those two threads / sites useful: How to use multiple GPUs on a single node · Issue #69 · jonathan-laurent/AlphaZero.jl · GitHub and GitHub - fabricerosay/AlphaGPU: Alphazero on GPU thanks to CUDA.jl, especially in the first link, however, I have to admit that I am not sure if this is leveraging GPU-to-GPU comms, completely omitting CPUs.

https://github.com/avik-pal/FluxMPI.jl is the closest to what you’re looking for, but does require a CUDA-aware MPI. I’m not aware of an easy way to obtain that without involving HPC stuff, but worth a try.