ModelingToolkit - component defaults

I have some background with Modelica, where the specification and modification of defaults is relatively simple. From the ModelingToolkit documentation [p. 2 of ModelingToolkit.jl documentation]:

Often it is a good idea to specify reasonable values for the initial state and the parameters of a model component. Then, these do not have to be explicitly specified when constructing the ODEProblem.

function unitstep_fol_factory(;name)
    @parameters τ
    @variables t x(t)
    ODESystem(D(x) ~ (1 - x)/τ; name, defaults=Dict(x=>0.0, τ=>1.0))
end

ODEProblem(unitstep_fol_factory(name=:fol),[],(0.0,5.0),[]) |> solve

If I don’t specify defaults, initial values and parameters are specified by (separate) arrays of pairs, e.g., [x => 0], [tau => 1.0]. But for defaults, it seems like the default initial values and parameters are specified in a single dictionary.

OK – not a big problem [although somewhat unsystematic?]

Question 1: if I specify defaults, do I need to specify defaults for all states and parameters, or is it possible to specify defaults for a subset? [And… if the system is not in state space form but needs to be “reduced” to state space form by index reduction, etc. – how can I know how many states there are? Normally, I’d have to do structural_simplify first to see the names of the states??]

Question 2: how do I specify parameters that differ from default values? I don’t want to specify all parameters, but just those that are different.

• Do I simply add parameters or initial values that differ from the defaults?
  • Or do I need to specify the complete set of values? [Which would reduce the advantage of specifying defaults.]

In other words, if the defaults are as follows (assume different system, but same name as example above…):

..., defaults = Dict(x => 0, y => 1.0, a => 3.0, b => 2.0))

and I want to change initial value of y and parameter value of a (but keep the defaults of x and b), I do:

u0 = [y => -1.0]