Modeling and solving systems of nonlinear dynamic equations

I am currently a Ph.D. student in economics, and I am looking to find a way to model and solve dynamic systems of nonlinear equations. The goal is to create a dynamic Computable General Equilibrium (CGE) model in Julia. I am currently a beginner in dynamic systems and have never programmed such a model for conducting simulations. Thank you in advance for your responses.

I have experience in dynamical systems in Julia but not much experience in economics modelling. Can you describe in more detail what a "dynamic Computable General Equilibrium (CGE) " means?

You may want to take a look at GitHub - DynareJulia/Dynare.jl: A Julia rewrite of Dynare: solving, simulating and estimating DSGE models.

2 Likes

A more specific description of your model would help. Eg parameters, endogenous objects, relevant functional equations (equilibrium conditions, optimality), state space, whether it is continuous or discrete time, etc. And whether you just want to solve a few times, or estimate (ie solve a gazillion of times, fast).

A CGE (Computable General Equilibrium) is a mathematical model that comprises a set of equations (often nonlinear) describing the behaviors of various economic agents within an economy. These models enable the modeling of an economy and conducting simulations. For instance, they help understand how an increase in public spending affects the initial state of an economy and towards which new equilibrium state different economic aggregates will converge. As far as I understand, dynamic models like these allow predictions for the future. I hope this clarifies it.

I don’t have specifications yet for the model I want to build. I wanted to know if someone knew how to create a small dynamic model to solve, such as the Ramsey model, so that I can understand how this can be done in JULIA.