Missing documentation for ? operator, and how to improve documentation

Hi there

I overall like the Julia documentation. It’s more comprehensive than most languages, and still, it lacks some things.

I am new to Julia, and found an example, that attempts to showcase multiple dispatch.
A part of the code is this:

collide(x::SpaceObject, y::SpaceObject) = (x.size > 100 && y.size > 100) ? "Big boom!" : collide_with(x, y)

So, me not knowing what ‘?’ is supposed to mean, I hover over the item with my cursor.
The VS Code extension doesn’t like to say me anything, so there could we improve something.
And then, looking up for “operators” or simply “?” directly yields me nothing in the documentation.

I really looked for 15 minutes, there is nothing. At least not something, that I could find.
I also suggest, to provide an overview of ALL operators on one page, or some kind of cheat sheet.

Can you explain me, what this operator does, and how we can improve the documentation?
An info box in VS Code would be by far the best thing.

Congratulations to the docs otherwise, they are overall really good.

2 Likes

Typing ? in the REPL to go to help mode, and then ? as the object to get help on, gives details on the operator with examples:

help output
help?> ?
search: ? ?:

a ? b : c

Short form for conditionals; read "if a, evaluate b otherwise evaluate c". Also known as the ternary operator
  (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%3F:).

This syntax is equivalent to if a; b else c end, but is often used to emphasize the value b-or-c which is being used as part of a
  larger expression, rather than the side effects that evaluating b or c may have.

See the manual section on control flow for more details.

Examples
  ≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡≡

julia> x = 1; y = 2;

julia> x > y ? println("x is larger") : println("y is larger")
  y is larger

Not sure how VS Code picks up docs or why it doesn’t work for this case.

6 Likes