Maximum by element in array

Hey,
I’m new to the wonderful language Julia, coming from JavaScript and Ruby.
I have the following code:

list = []
for x = -2:2, y = -2:2
  push!(list, (x, y, x * y))
end

Now I want to find the element/tuple that has the highest third value. In Ruby I would use max_by. Is there something similar that would return (2, 2, 4)?
In fact maximum(list) (Base.maximum) returns that but I can’t figure out by which criteria. Is it the sum of the tuple?
Thank you so much!

1 Like

In default tuple comparison, the first element is most significant, and end-of-tuple is smaller than all possible elements.

Unfortunately maximum does not accept a by-keyword. You can do e.g. the following (2 lines instead of one)

julia> r=[(1,2,3), (0,5,6), (1,2,4)]
julia> reduce(r) do x,y
       x[3]>y[3] ? x : y end
(0, 5, 6)

Note that this has different corner-case semantics than the built-in maximum (how are NaN handled? What about missing? In case of elements that compare equal, which one is returned?).

2 Likes
2 Likes

You could use the ability to transform each element to make this work (and then transform it back again afterwards):

julia> reverse(maximum(reverse, list))
(2, 2, 4)

Of course, this only works for this one particular example because there exists this sort of reversible transformation that sorts how you want.

Even though maximum has no by keyword, partialsort (used to sort a few entries, for example partialsort(t, 1:3) would find the three smallest entries) does, so you could do:

partialsort(list, 1, by = t -> t[3], rev = true)

as partialsort(t, 1, rev = true) is the same as maximum, but I agree it’d be nicer to just be able to do maximum(list, by = t -> t[3]).

2 Likes

Since you can do

julia> maximum(last, list)

is was going to say, just use

(_, ind) = findmax(last, list)
list[ind]

or

ind = argmax(last, list)
list[ind]