Matrix multiplication with custom types

Hey there.

So I’m very new to coding with Julia and am trying to get a handle on the “generalizability” of the language, as I’ll call it.

Below I created a Point strcut/class/? and defined the + and * operations of two points. I want to figure out how to take this and make the last line work somewhat like regular matrix multiplication works. Just instead of scalars the entries of the resulting matrix would be Point’s. Could someone point me in the direction to look to do this?

import Base.+
import Base.*

struct Point
    x::Number
    y::Number
end

+(p1::Point, p2::Point) = Point(p1.x + p2.x, p1.y + p2.y)
*(p1::Point, p2::Point) = Point(p1.x * p2.x, p1.y * p2.y)

a = Point(1,1)
b = Point(2,2)
c = a + b

point_matrix = [Point(i, j) for i in 1:3, j in 4:6]
point_matrix

point_vector = [a; b; c]
point_vector

point_matrix * point_vector

Below is the error that is generated

MethodError: no method matching zero(::Point)
Closest candidates are:
zero(!Matched::Type{LibGit2.GitHash}) at /buildworker/worker/package_linux64/build/usr/share/julia/stdlib/v1.1/LibGit2/src/oid.jl:220
zero(!Matched::Type{Pkg.Resolve.VersionWeights.VersionWeight}) at /buildworker/worker/package_linux64/build/usr/share/julia/stdlib/v1.1/Pkg/src/resolve/VersionWeights.jl:19
zero(!Matched::Type{Pkg.Resolve.MaxSum.FieldValues.FieldValue}) at /buildworker/worker/package_linux64/build/usr/share/julia/stdlib/v1.1/Pkg/src/resolve/FieldValues.jl:44

Stacktrace:
[1] generic_matvecmul!(::Array{Point,1}, ::Char, ::Array{Point,2}, ::Array{Point,1}) at /buildworker/worker/package_linux64/build/usr/share/julia/stdlib/v1.1/LinearAlgebra/src/matmul.jl:542
[2] mul! at /buildworker/worker/package_linux64/build/usr/share/julia/stdlib/v1.1/LinearAlgebra/src/matmul.jl:76 [inlined]
[3] *(::Array{Point,2}, ::Array{Point,1}) at /buildworker/worker/package_linux64/build/usr/share/julia/stdlib/v1.1/LinearAlgebra/src/matmul.jl:50
[4] top-level scope at In[12]:1