Matrix multiplication convergence

I am trying to coding a transition matrix I generated using Rouwenhorst converge to a idempotent by multiply itself multiple times in Julia using if loop, but I am new to Julia and don’t know how.

Basic enviroment:

\Pi #transition matrix generated
if A != \Pi * \Pi
     then B = A * A
          then C = B * B
          else end
     else end 
 else end

Hello and welcome to the community!

I recommend you to study the documentation of Julia, you’ll find this section relevant to your problem Control Flow · The Julia Language

I actually read this but and tried to write some code couple times but I know it is wrong because I feel somewhere not right, here is what I tried before.

while ture
    A=\Pi
    if A != \Pi *\Pi
         A = \Pi *\Pi
    else 
         break
    end
end

You re-initialize A to Π on every loop iteration, so it will never converge — you square it only once and then re-initialize it.

(I assume by \Pi you mean Π, i.e. you meant to tab-complete the unicode symbol.)

That is, your problem is not (just) Julia syntax, but rather you are struggling with the basic logic of the loop. There are a variety of programming tutorials that you might find helpful, e.g. the book Think Julia.

Hello Steve,

Thanks for the reply, I know I need to update my matrix A after every logic check which is

if A != Π

(By the way may I ask how to type Π in this community? I search for this and did not find any document explain how)

So do you think I should just remove that condition?

while true
    if A != Π .* Π
         A = Π .* Π
    else 
         break
    end
end

If the matrices are Float64, then comparing using != isn’t useful because of numerical errors. Use isapprox and !isapprox.

Did you mean to type:

while true
    Π=A
    if A ≉ Π * Π
        A = Π * Π
    else 
        break
    end
end