Why same calculations on matrices yield different results?

Hello all,

I am fairly new to Julia but I come from the Python world. While I am still learning the basic machinery of the Matrix. I noticed a small difference in the way a “self-declared identity” matrix is being used in the following matrix operations:

julia> self_defined_I = [1. 0.; 0. 1.]
2×2 Matrix{Float64}:
 1.0  0.0
 0.0  1.0

julia> x = [1 2; 3 4]
2×2 Matrix{Int64}:
 1  2
 3  4

julia> inv(x)
2×2 Matrix{Float64}:
 -2.0   1.0
  1.5  -0.5

julia> x^(-1)
2×2 Matrix{Float64}:
 -2.0   1.0
  1.5  -0.5

julia> self_defined_I/x
2×2 Matrix{Float64}:
 -2.0   1.0
  1.5  -0.5

julia> x\self_defined_I
2×2 Matrix{Float64}:
 -2.0   1.0
  1.5  -0.5

julia> inv(x) == x^(-1) == self_defined_I/x == x\self_defined_I
false

julia> inv(x) == x^(-1) == x\self_defined_I
true

julia> x\self_defined_I == self_defined_I/x
false

However, when using the isapprox operator we get:

julia> x\self_defined_I ≈ self_defined_I/x
true

Also, when using the LinearAlgebra.I identity matrix such kind of inconsistencies don’t happen even with the exact == operator:

using LinearAlgebra

julia> LinearAlgebra.I == self_defined_I
true

julia> inv(x) == x^(-1) == x\self_defined_I == LinearAlgebra.I/x == x\LinearAlgebra.I
true

I can see that all the results are of type Matrix{Float64} then why specifically the self_defined_I/x operation results in a matrix that has a different precision?

julia> self_defined_I/x - inv(x)
2×2 Matrix{Float64}:
 -4.44089e-16   2.22045e-16
  2.22045e-16  -1.11022e-16

julia> x\self_defined_I - inv(x)
2×2 Matrix{Float64}:
 0.0  0.0
 0.0  0.0

I would also like to ask if it is something one should take care or be worried about and if this could have the potential to propagate in other kinds of matrix operations and cause significant impact in accuracy?

Another off category question - from a design perspective does it make sense to force the output of x*inv(x) to LinearAlgebra.I?