Mapping polygon or mesh data from array input for satellite swaths

I am new to Julia and work on satellite remote sensing of the atmosphere and ocean. I am looking for some advice on mapping point and polygon (vector) data in geographic coordinates using Julia.

I produce relatively coarse resolution data on scales of 5 to 50 km. The swaths are irregular since the size of the sensor field-of-view changes across the flight track of the orbit. In other words, the data are not raster, but geographic data are in simple arrays (“raw” coordinates, if you will).

I want to make color maps of several scalar fields that I’ve generated on a irregular grid and do so interactively using a relatively fast plotting backend rather than write output to postscript.

My challenge has been finding a convenient way to plot my spatial fields using packages in the Julia ecosystem. Since my task is common in GIS, I looked for Julia Geo packages which map Polygons, or MultiPolygons. But those I found appear to expect shapefiles or GeoJSON inputs and I want to stay away from that.

I simply want to put lots of polygon data that are in simple arrays on the Earth efficiently. I’m guessing this will require putting my polygon arrays into one of the geo data structures that has been developed for Julia, but I can’t figure out how that should be done.

Does anyone have suggestions of how to using some of the available Julia packages to make maps in this way? Or perhaps there is an alternative? I’m happy to combine a few steps using low level interfaces to accomplish the task.

Thanks very much,
Dave

Hi @haffner , welcome to the community. I sympathize with your requirements and I think that the GeoStats.jl framework may suit your needs. Given that you are new to Julia, please consider watching this JuliaCon talk to get an idea of the current functionality: