Makie does not update the plot during an animation

Working with lots of geometry objects, I wrote some recipes to plot such objects using low-level commands like lines! and scatter!
I have a master-recipe that combines all of those so that my call sequence remains simple. Now I am trying to animate such complex plots using lifts and Observables

My call sequence looks like

time = Observable(0.0)
constantargument = 1
varargument = @lift(fun($time))
f,ax,p = mymasterrecipeplot!(constantargument,varargument)
for t in 0:100
    time[] = t
    sleep(0.5)
end

At the beginning, no variables defined in the recipes was updated when upon the time[] call.
So I wrapped all my underlying recipes such that any of them was declared lifting the arguments. For instance

Makie.@recipe(MyMasterRecipePlot,arg1,arg2) do scene
    # Recipe declarations
end

function Makie.plot!(plt::MyMasterRecipePlot{<:Tuple{<arg1 type>,<arg2 type>})
    (;arg1,arg2) = plt
    lift(arg1,arg2) do arg1, arg2
        # computation and other calls here
        return plt
    end
end

At that point I can see that the values passed upon time update are modified. However, these new values are not reflected in the plotted figure. I tried to display(f) in the loop but that does not change it.
However, if I close manually the figure during the update loop, it reopens at the next iteration, showing all consecutive plots that should have been plotted during the previous loop iterations on top of each other in the same figure.

Could someone tell me what I am doing wrong ?

The plotting calls in your recipe should only be done once, not on every observable update. But the input observables to these inner plotting calls should be lifted from the recipe input observables. Whenever these are updated, the inner plots receive updated inputs and visually update. I would recommend to have a look in the recipes folder of Makie’s source, to see how we do it there. Probably easier to learn by example.