Macros don't seem to work?

I’m new to Julia and trying to use some macros of Query.jl. I’m running Julia v0.6 in Juno on Linux Mint Cinnamon 18.1, 64bit. Macros don’t seem to work, I always get errors e.g.:

A=collect(1:10) '@where !=5 MethodError: no method matching @where(::Expr)

It makes no difference, which macro I’m using, they all throw this error. Did anybody ever encounter that before? I would guess, it’S something to do with my installation, but I don’t know, how to find that out. I already tried Pkg.update() and no packages need to be updated…
Thanks!

I don’t believe @where is a macro. It’s not listed in https://github.com/JuliaLang/julia/blob/master/base/exports.jl Do you mean @which?

julia> @which 4!=5
!=(x, y) in Base at operators.jl:129

julia> @where 4!=5
ERROR: UndefVarError: @where not defined

julia-0.6.0 generic binary, running on opensuse tumbleweed.

@where is defined in Query.jl. It is documented here: http://www.david-anthoff.com/Query.jl/stable/querycommands.html#Filtering-1. It never uses the syntax in your post. Also, I think you should apply it to sources like dataframes and not to a vector.

Could you say more clearly what you actually want to do?

1 Like

Thanks, but I#m not so sure, whether it’s a syntactic problem, because I get the same error, when trying @from (from the Query) package. I’m actually trying to do pretty much the same as in the example given there. The data I’m trying to use this on is also a DataFrame, however I only want to get certain values out if the first column, so it might be treated like a vector? I’m not so sure, how htis is in Julia. in R, I would use which().

Can you give a minimal example, using a dataframe, the code that you execute on that dataframe, what result you expect to get, and the errors printed?