Losses for parameter estimation of Neural SDE

I’m trying to understand the various options for doing parameter estimation on a USDE. I’m completely new to parameter estimation in SDEs, so ELI-dumb-chemist would be appreciated.

Background

I’m trying to model a physical process using Brownian dynamics with a position-dependent diffusion tensor. I can model this as a non-diagonal Ito SDE. Both the drift and diffusion terms depend on neural networks. I can set things up in a way that guarantees that the system has a well-defined stationary distribution and obeys physical constraints, like fluctuation-dissipation relations.

My training data is a small number of long trajectories with observations at regular time intervals.

My questions are about parameter estimation. I’ve seen two different approaches in the documentation for DifferentialEquations.jl and DiffEqFlux.jl. I have some questions about those and how they relate to what I’ve read in other sources.

Moment Matching

The DiffEqFlux examples all seem to use moment matching. As I understand, this involves:

1. Collecting a set of real observations for many realizations of the system starting from some initial condition.
  2. Compute the per-timestep means and variances.
  3. Run a set of realizations of the model starting from the same initial condition.
  4. Compute the per-timestep predicted means and variances
  5. Construct a loss by comparing the observed to predicted means/variances.

Is that understanding correct? In my case, I don’t think this will work well, as, over time, the distribution sampled by my model tends towards a stationary distribution that is highly non-gaussian, multi-modal, etc.

L2 Loss