Learning automatic differentiation

I am a beginner in programming in julia and am studying the basics of deep learning with Flux and Zygote. In my study I have only encountered a few examples of backprop but I realized (by reading the discussions here and watching videos on youtube such as Mike Innes on julia language channel) that automatic differentiation is an extremely broad subject, and I know nothing about it.

Where did you study the topics regarding automatic differentiation that you apply in julia?
What do I need to study to understand how automatic differentiation libraries like Zygote or ForwardDiff work?
Are there any books that also have examples in julia?
Thanks, sorry for my English.

5 Likes

Maybe worth starting with GitHub - MikeInnes/diff-zoo: Differentiation for Hackers

There are a variety of good academic reviews of the subject, tutorials and textbooks if you want to learn more.

10 Likes

Thank you.
I’m a beginner, which textbook/tutorial can you recommend me?

1 Like

Maybe start with https://www.jmlr.org/papers/volume18/17-468/17-468.pdf

7 Likes

My recommend reading/watching list is here in the ChainRules docs, at the bottom of the page

I have been told that the ChainRules docs themselves are quite educational.
We definitely tried hard to be, though I think they could be better.

6 Likes

Are there any books that also have examples in julia?

There are no good books on Automatic Differentiation. Let alone ones that have examples in Julia.
Griewank and Walther 2008 “Evaluating Derivatives” is fairly comprehensive (for reverse mode), but not all that readable.
The alternatives that I am aware of are neither comprehensive nor readable

2 Likes

That’s a very similar experience I had as well. I’m still learning Automatic Differentiation (AD), but here are some resources and links that helped my understanding.