Knowing what package a function is from?

Both Calculus.jl and SystmUtils.jl have a simplify funtction. If I have code like.

using Calculus
using SystemUtils

differentiate("x^2+65x^58+7-63")

simplify(ans)

how do in know which simplify it would use?

I am not an expert on this stuff, but I imagine it would depend on the argument type. The Calculus package make define simplify(::T1) while SystemUtils may define the method simplify(::T2) where T1 and T2 are types. So when you call simplify(ans) it depends on what the type is of ans.

Now if both packages define a method for the same type, that is type piracy and you’ll get ambiguity warnings (error?). To resolve the ambiguity, you can qualify the method by its module name, i.e.

Calculus.simplify(ans)
# or 
SystemUtils.simplify(ans)
5 Likes

Prefix the function name with the module name: Calculus.simplify.

3 Likes

Perfect! then I can compare outputs! I didn’t like the results of Calculus.jl simplifications, and hope that SymbolicUtils will do a better job. I’m also interested in comparing Reduce.jl (but I can’t find how to simplify it the documentation), and Maxima.jl(Maxima simplifies nice, but I need a .bar file with Windows).

SymPy.jl is also worth trying

1 Like

Calculus.jl is ancient and should not be used

7 Likes

@Wikunia is actually working on a project that should help with this called Seahawk.jl (link: https://github.com/Wikunia/Seahawk.jl). He could probably explain more about it than I could. :slight_smile:

Going back to the question in the title, you could have used the which macro, which tells you where the method being called comes from:

julia> @which sum(rand(10))
sum(a::AbstractArray; dims) in Base at reducedim.jl:722
7 Likes

Seahawk can be used if you don’t know the name of the function. In this case you want to use @which

1 Like

Also worth considering.

Thank’s I’ll try to remember that.