Julia's business model

I recently switched from Matlab to Julia. It is my first time to use an open-source programming language. So far I have been loving it very much. I am very grateful for all the help from this very friendly Julia community!

One thing I have been wondering is that how could we make this tool available to everyone for free? Right now, I am donating monthly to this project, but the “donation” nature makes it hard for me to pay Julia using my research project funding. I would recommend the below business model:

• Free for personal use
  • Charge a one time fee of $1000 per person for each business use (commercial and academic) to get a perpetual license.

That way, we would have more funding to allow more people to be full time on making this wonderful programming language even better.

1 Like

Julia is already free for everyone to use.

17 Likes

Hello Leon,

welcome to the Julia Community. The community is made up out of many entities and there is no one business model. Donations (and sponsorship of JuliaCon) go to the JuliaLang project with NumFocus and are used to pay for costs like hosting this forum, or providing bandwidth for downloads. For commercial users Julia Computing is offering enterprise support. We at the JuliaLab finance our efforts through research grants.

So there is no one entity that could change it’s business model.

20 Likes

In addition to above answers

It’s a bit hard to charge an open source software just for use, since anyone can already use it for free by compiling the source code. What is usually offered is support, and Valentin pointed out that Julia Computing already does that.

18 Likes

Also note that many (most?) successful programming language are free and open source - coming from Matlab, Stata, Mathematica, Spss etc it might seem like language development can only work under some sort of for profit model, but for the most part this isn’t true.

22 Likes