Ethics in Julia

The Julia community is amazing and I feel that many people here aim at solving problems in the best possible way.
I was wondering if there is a group of people who think/care about (business) ethical questions in the Julia universe and its packages?
Do we have people in our community who are experienced in such matters and who would spot ethical challenges?

Disclaimer: I’m just a mathematician, this question is outside of my expertise. My own view is that for big packages/ecosystems (e.g. machine learning, data science, …) it could be helpful to investigate how and by whom these packages are used. (Is there misuse? Are there ways to prevent or minimise misuse?) Of course, this is a general open-source problem and not Julia specific at all.
But given that there is a TED talk which claims that Julia is “A programming language to heal the planet together”, I think it is reasonable to challenge this claim.

EDIT: I crossed out the last sentence because it might be stated out of context here, see @ImreSamu comment.

4 Likes

Does this boils down to
“Don’t produce screwdrivers, they can be used as deadly weapons!”
?

This is meant as serious question, although it’s formulated a bit sarcastic!
Ethics on general purpose programming languages is neither my expertise. I said in another thread that I don’t like to become religious about programming languages, like being called or using the words “evangelists” or similar things like the titel of the TED talk (which I interprete as marketing wording to attract attention). But this is what I feel this is about: making sure everything is on the “being good” side, so we can still be believers, and much more important: we can feel that we are better than (all) the others who aren’t.

You see, I have a negative bias, but I like to discuss these subjects :slight_smile:

5 Likes

:smiley: The screwdriver example is probably a reliable source for endless discussions.