Julia within org-mode: what about a new ob-julia?

Hi,

I’m very new to Julia (and just beginning to learn this language). I’m currently mostly an R user, which I use within Emacs using ESS and org-mode.

ESS has pretty good support for Julia, but I still have found no satisfying way to use Julia within org-mode. I read this thread about emacs-jupyter, but I simply did not manage to make it work for now. Furthermore, I would be more enthusiastic for a simple and lightweight elisp solution, as advocated in this (old) thread. (This would be closer to my current org-babel + R workflow.)

There used to be an old ob-julia package for that, but it is now orphaned and broken. Several individual forks do exist, e.g. here or here, but none of them seems to be totally okay for the latest versions of Julia.

So, are there here some folks who would also like to resuscitate this package ob-julia in a common, “official” and durable effort? :wink: I’m not a great emacs lisp programmer but I do have some notions and I would be glad to be involved in this effort — I’m just not good enough in lisp to do that alone.

Thanks, and see you!

6 Likes

There could be another way - create an emacs-jupyter alternative but based on Pluto.jl.

4 Likes

This might be slightly easier to create (?) but probably harder to maintain (and less safe) in the long run. I’m not sure that relying on sophisticated tools such as Pluto or Jupyter is actually the best way to bring back Julia into org-mode. A very light and simple solution, similar to the ob-R exporter for the R language or the good old ob-julia, would probably do the job for most people without introducing complex dependencies. But since I know very little about both Julia and Elisp, I’m clearly not in the best position to figure out what could be the best option :wink:

1 Like