Julia throws additional LoadError during exception handling

I’m not really sure if this is the right place for this question, so please let me know where I should be if this is not the right place.

I’m new to Julia, and I am writing some scripts that I’d like to use from the Linux command line. This works all fine, but when I included some exception handling into my script I found that that whenever I throw an exception Julia throws an additional LoadError So for example if I run a script containing only the following line:

throw(DivideError())

I get the both a DivideError (which I want) and a LoadError (Which I don’t want) when I run the script:

$ julia throwError.jl
ERROR: LoadError: DivideError: integer division error
Stacktrace:
 [1] top-level scope at /path/throwError.jl:1
 [2] include(::Function, ::Module, ::String) at ./Base.jl:380
 [3] include(::Module, ::String) at ./Base.jl:368
 [4] exec_options(::Base.JLOptions) at ./client.jl:296
 [5] _start() at ./client.jl:506
in expression starting at /path/throwError.jl:1

Can somebody explain what is happening here, and how I can prevent the LoadError?

1 Like

Hi Jonas! You provided a concise example, which makes it so much easier to help.

Julia runs the code in order to load it. If you put the throw() inside a function, then Julia will run the function definition, but it won’t run the function that gets defined. You won’t see the DivideError until later, when you call the function. So:

function suspicious_fry(x)
    throw(DivideError())
    x
end
2 Likes

in short, this is happening because you’re throwing in global scope, which probably is not a realistic scenario.

Hi aldogert,

Thank you for your answer. It is not so much that I have a problem, it’s more that I try to understand how Julia works. For me throwing exceptions works fine. I was just wondering why the DivideError is wrapped by a LoadError.