Julia sure looks like it needs a version of Hoogle

I’m new to Julia. Finding functions seems more difficult than I’d hoped.

Smalltalk lets me find references to Classes and implementors of method selector Symbols. I can also inspect instances of a class and browse the network of code attached.

Haskell has Hoogle which allows me to search Haskell libraries, external to my current environment, by type signature: FilePath → String. As you can see, it works pretty well.

As much as I love Smalltalk, I prefer the Haskell facility.

I tried to find a type conversion function for PosixPath -> AbstractString. People answered from experience and memory. Which is helpful, but not a general solution.

Julia has a lot of wonderful type information. it seems a shame not to use it in search.

Here’s what the interpreter/compiler (?) is trying to do when I try to convert a ::FilePathsBase.PosixPath to a String so I can use it as the second argument to download()

MethodError: no method matching String(::PosixPath)
Closest candidates are:
  String(::String) at boot.jl:350
  String(::Vector{UInt8}) at strings/string.jl:53
  String(::Symbol) at strings/string.jl:83

I have an answer to my specific conversion exercise. I want a solution to how do I find all the functions which transform a particular signature of types.

How and where do I propose such a thing - if it doesn’t already exist?

1 Like

A proof of concept might start with downloading the General Registry and using methodswith.

Julia functions are often so generic and polymorphic that it’s hard to determine function input-output without running type inference (and sometimes not even that is enough). You can get an enormous amount of hits, because people often write code that is completely generic, with only an inkling of an idea about what input/output it will take and produce.