How to find functions operating on type

I did mention in a few prior posts that i am new to Julia so I still have some questions for the best usage.
I come from very OO languages like C# and Python where you can simply call all the functions defined on a type (Class or Instance) by the instance plus dot. This usualy also triggers the code hinting on what functions are defined on this types e.g.

MyClass MyInstance = new MyClass();
//Can simply call functions
MyInstance.myFunction();

//or wait for autocomplete:
MyInstance.

This can obviously not be done in Julia like this. What is the best way in Julia to do this aka find what functions are defined on a type?

Kind regards and thank you for your time.

Finding methods defined on a type in Julia is done by using the methodswith function:

# it will return all methods that have an `String` as argument
methodswith(String)

# the above might be overwhelming, so you might want to restrict
# the search to a module or a particular function

# restrict to Base module
methodswith(String, Base)

# or to setindex! function
methodswith(Int, setindex!)

The output is a little verbose to print here - however, keep in mind that methodswith returns a vector of methods.

2 Likes

I was about to answer the same and this made me wonder: could there be a functionswith that does the same as methodswith but gathering duplicate names and omitting signatures?

It should be something like this (maybe some signature work can be done, but this does the job at first glance).

This can still be improved/simplified (I didn’t look inside the methodswith body - that would sure help).

Updated to a cleaner version:

_functionswith(methods) = map(m -> m.name, methods) |> unique 
functionswith(t::Type; supertypes::Bool=false) = _functionswith(methodswith(t, supertypes=supertypes))
functionswith(t::Type, mf::Union{Module,Function}; supertypes::Bool=false) = _functionswith(methodswith(t, mf, supertypes=supertypes))
functionswith(String, Base)