Julia subsumes ICON: well done

I developed a likely poor-supported belief the developers where re-evaluating Julia’s string functionality for Julia 2.0 from some off-hand comment that @StefanKarpinski made in some post.

That’s an interest area of mine, as in my (ahem) 42 years of programming, I always end up doing a lot of string parsing. Usually to clean up, reformat, or extract information from data. Even using assembly language, I was processing strings. I’m not a professional programmer (engineer and statistician).

Historically, SNOBOL was considered a language with good tools for string handling. This was later improved upon by the late Ralph Griswold with the Icon programming language. Back in the day, I read the book and used it a little bit.

I did some research to see if Icon had anything that I would want to add to Julia 2.0. Icon’s major feature in this area is “string scanning”. The journal article String Scanning in the Icon programming language provides a concise description of the functionality, or you can always read the docs.

However, as far as I can tell, Julia already has that functionality. Namely, use split() as an iterator, then in the loop, use the Iteration utilities. Plus, in Julia, it works with Unicode strings.

Well done, developers!

6 Likes

Also, string performance is on track to improve a bunch for 1.8. allocate small strings in 8-byte-aligned pools by JeffBezanson · Pull Request #41247 · JuliaLang/julia · GitHub is already merged and reduces the memory of small strings by 8 bytes. Further improvements will likely include some combination of inlined small strings, pooled storage for strings, and/or removing string type tags in some circumstances.

7 Likes