Julia slows down after computer upgrade

Hi. I am very new to Julia and am not a computer geek so this question may not be very clear. I am happy to add any information as necessary.

I am running Julia on VSCode in Windows. I recently added some memory sticks (128G to 256G) to the PC and found out that Julia was significantly slower. I tried several things including moving the positions of the memory sticks, reinstalling Julia and VSCode, disabling hyperthreading. (in this order). Nothing worked.

I then decided to install Windows Server on my computer, hoping that Julia would behave normally under the new system. It was still slow.

Could anyone give me some suggestions on what to do? Thanks!

Did you run benchmarks, or is this subjective?
What is the speed of the memory, new and old?
Maybe an XMP profile was enabled before, but is disabled now? That is, if you buy RAM marked at 3200 MHz and install it, it will run at 2133 MHz until you enable the appropriate memory profile (or manually tweak settings).

5 Likes

Thanks for the reply.
I did not run any benchmarks. I ran the same Julia code, and it takes twice the time to finish (recorded by ProgressMeter). I also noticed that the CPU usage is significantly lower. It dropped from 30-40% to 10-15%.
My memory sticks are 2133 MHz. I have a duo Xeon CPU E5-2690 v4 @2.60GHz.

I would first run a general benchmark suite that has nothing to do with Julia.

2 Likes

It’s hard to help since your post lacks specifics, especially code. That said…

This quote makes me wonder if your code is now running on a single CPU core after previously running on several. Is your code multi-threaded? If so, try running it again in a Julia session started with julia --threads X where X is the number of cores on your machine. Or set the JULIA_NUM_THREADS environment variable as described here.

2 Likes