Julia REPL flow coming from Matlab

Hi, I’m new to the Julia community and I have a question about how to use REPL to interface with my scripts.

In Matlab, it’s easy to get into a folder and, for example, set a sequence of scripts called A.m B.m and C.m.

Let’s say A.m loads a bunch of csv files into matrices in the memory
B.m is a processing script with manipulates those matrices somehow
C.m is a cleanup script which plots data, saves figures, makes reports, etc.

Usually, I’m able to load A.m once in my workspace and keep iterating on B.m in any way I want, using “clear” on unwanted variables as I go.

Can I do that same workflow in Julia? Clearly, I can’t simply type “B ” in REPL and make it call B.jl in the folder.

Also, even if I can “include(“B.jl”)” or run() somehow, is does Julia have “clear” to control what things I want removed from the current “workspace”?

Thank you so much in advance!

You can’t remove variables from the workspace.

I’d suggest either putting the scripts in a package and using Revise.jl, or includeting (note the t; includet is from Revise.jl) the scripts.
This will automatically run code you changed as you edit and save the scripts.

3 Likes

Hi and welcome!

If you haven’t found it already, this link should be useful: Noteworthy Differences from other Languages · The Julia Language.

I don’t have much Matlab experience, but you probably want to organize things differently than you would have in Matlab, especially older-school Matlab in which you have one function per file. In Julia you want to organize your code into functions, so create functions A, B, and C that do those read, process and output tasks (and each of those should probably not be large monolithic blocks of code but can also be composed of relatively small functions).