Julia code crash in VSCode extension

Greetings,

I am quite new to Julia and VSCode (I come from a mostly C/C++ background), so apologies if the issue isn’t perfectly described.

Using Julia 1.10.5 and the latest version of the VSCode extension, I encountered a consistent crash in the VSCode extension while debugging (with @enter, the debugger is way too slow). The crash also kills the REPL and (rather frustratingly) wipes the output. I tried connecting to an external REPL to capture the output, after looking up this issue (https://stackoverflow.com/questions/73091315/my-julia-script-crashes-in-vs-code-when-i-do-some-computations-how-can-i-learn), and reading the instructions to connect to an external REPL (https://www.julia-vscode.org/docs/stable/faq/#The-integrated-REPL-closes-when-the-Julia-process-crashes.-How-do-I-get-more-information-on-what%27s-going-on?). I haven’t tried using tmux.

In any case, I was not able to capture the output from an external REPL, I don’t think the connection worked (and get no feedback from VSCode when I open an external Julia REPL), and VSCode’s @enter is not recognized when I run the code in an external terminal so I assume I did something wrong.

I was, however, able to capture a partial stacktrace through some lucky copying in the split second before the terminal goes kaputt.

Error: Some Julia code in the VS Code extension crashed

└ @ VSCodeServer ~/.vscode/extensions/julialang.language-julia-1.123.2/scripts/error_handler.jl:15

ERROR: UndefVarError: `uuid4` not defined

Stacktrace:

[1] stack_trace_request(debug_session::VSCodeServer.DebugAdapter.DebugSession, params::VSCodeServer.DebugAdapter.StackTraceArguments)

@ VSCodeServer.DebugAdapter ~/.vscode/extensions/julialang.language-julia-1.123.2/scripts/packages/DebugAdapter/src/debugger_requests.jl:400

[2] (::VSCodeServer.DebugAdapter.var"#110#139"{VSCodeServer.DebugAdapter.DebugSession})(params::VSCodeServer.DebugAdapter.StackTraceArguments)