Julia Beginner (from Python): Numba outperforms Julia in rewrite. Any tips to improve performance?

Hey! I’m new to Julia (coming from Python) and was trying to benchmark Julia against a part of the apricot python package (submodular optimization). Unfortunately the Python version (using numba) is still a bit faster (1.5x). I read through the Performance optimization chapter and applied the following already:

• put core components into functions,
  • used views for array slices,
  • using Threads for parallel for loops,
  • using fastmath,
  • using column first orientation.
    I asked in the Julia Slack and based on someones recommendation we improved the code by 10x but the key part (the calculate_gains function) is still slower than numba.
    Here’s the code: https://github.com/rmeinl/apricot-julia (in notebooks/ you’ll find python_reimpl and julia_reimpl ). Was wondering if anyone had any recommendations on what I could further improve. :slightly_smiling_face:
9 Likes

Is it possible for you to post a working example of that function alone?

Edit:

function get_gains!(X, current_values, idxs, gains)
    @inbounds Threads.@threads for i in eachindex(idxs)
        s = 0.0
        for j in eachindex(current_values)
            s += @fastmath sqrt(current_values[j] + X[j, idxs[i]])
        end
        gains[i] = s
    end
end;

If that is the bottleneck, have you tried to use @tturbo in the inner (or outer) loops instead @threads? Or @turbo in the inner loop at least? Seems to me that what is being computed is too simple for standard threading to be useful. If the number of elements of current_values is large this is also probably an easy use case for a GPU accelerated map reduce.

Edit 2:

In [25]:
opt2 = LazyGreedy(X_digits);
res2 = @btime fit(opt2, k);
bench2 = @benchmark fit(opt2, k);
t2 = bench2.times[1]/1e9;
  13.836 s (22202 allocations: 8.95 GiB)